What are mandatory grounds for possession?

Read the Section 8 guide now

Learn more

A judge must award possession if a mandatory ground is met. The following section 8 grounds are grounds for mandatory possession:

  • Ground 1: Landlord taking property as their own home
  • Ground 2: Mortgage property
  • Ground 3: Holiday Let
  • Ground 4: Property let to an educational institution
  • Ground 5: Housing for a minister of religion
  • Ground 6: Refurbishment
  • Ground 7: Death of the tenant
  • Ground 7A: Serious anti-social behaviour (conviction for serious offence)
  • Ground 7B. Service on landlord of notice by Secretary of State in respect illegal immigrants
  • Ground 8. Serious rent arrears

Read our article on the grounds for serving a section 8 notice to understand what each of these grounds means.

Definitive guide to serving notices in 2021

Create your Section 8 notice now

Get Started

Looking for more answers?

More Questions